B-B-E wrestlers advance to state! (VIDEO)

No. 3-ranked Jaguars advance to state tournament for 4th straight year


February 15, 2024


The coaches and team members gather for one final huddle in Minneota on February 17 after the Jaguars defeated Canby to advance to the state tournament.

After two outstanding team performances in the Section 5A wrestling Final Four on February 17 in Minneota, the No. 3-ranked Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa Jaguars are heading to the Class 1A state tournament for the fourth year in a row. The attached video features action from the championship match between B-B-E and top-seeded Canby, who the Jaguars defeated 39-21 to earn the state berth.

Individual results from the Canby dual are posted below. The Jaguars avenged one of their two regular season losses with the win. On January 26, the Lancers gave a supercharged performance in defeating the Jaguars 38-29. B-B-E shifted numerous wrestlers up one weight to overcome on regular starter who was out with illness. Canby proceeded to win the first five weights to lead 27-0.

To get to the section finals, B-B-E defeated No. 10-ranked Paynesville Area 44-21 in the semifinals earlier that day.

B-B-E is 21-2 overall and was ranked No. 3 in the latest Guillotine rankings. Out of all eight state tournament qualifiers, six are ranked in the Top 12. The four highest-ranked teams in the state tournament field were at No. 5 or better.

The Class 1 state wrestling tournament takes place on Thursday, February 29 at Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul. The quarterfinals begin at 11 a.m. with all eight teams in action at that time.

Class 1A state tournament qualifiers from each section:

Section 1A: No. 1-ranked Chatfield.

Section 2A: No. 8-ranked Lake Crystal-Wellcome Memorial Area.

Section 3A: No. 4-ranked Jackson County Central.

Section 4A: LeSueur-Henderson.

Section 5A: No. 3-ranked B-B-E.

Section 6A: No. 12-ranked Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale/Parkers Prairie.

Section 7A: No. 5-ranked Staples-Motley.

Section 8A: United North Central.

Section 5A championship: B-B-E 39, Canby 21.

107: Noah Jensen won a 5-2 decision vs. Cash Antony.

114: Noah Welte won by fall (1:22) vs. Ty Rangaard.

121: Jace Mueller lost by fall (2:22) vs. No. 4-ranked Eli Greenman.


(HD VIDEO) On February 17 at Minneota high school.

127: Aiden Mueller lost a 4-1 decision vs. Brennan Giese.

133: Louie Tensen lost by fall (5:39) vs. Issac Guzman.

139: Ryan Jensen won by fall (0:49) vs. Tallen Merritt.

145: Tanner Viessman won a 4-3 decision vs. Blake Giese.

152: Brett DeRoo won a 3-0 decision vs. Sam Drietz.

160: Ethan Mueller won by fall (3:13) vs. Brodyrck Gravdal.

172: Maximus Hanson won by fall (1:41) vs. Sawyer Verhelst.

189: Hunter Laage lost a 7-2 decision vs. No. 6-ranked Nick Wagner.

215: Carson Gilbert won by fall (0:23) vs. Wesley Verhelst.

285: Harley Weber lost a 4-3 decision vs. Gavin Noyes.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2024

Rendered 04/16/2024 10:38